Monday, November 25, 2013

2014 Goals

It's that time of year where I start thinking about next years goals. 2013 was not a great one for me as far as getting things accomplished. One thing I having been thinking about is blogging again. Don't laugh! I know I have said this numerous times without actually doing it. Between posting on Twitter, Google+, and Facebook I have pretty much ignored Blogger. I do miss blogging though. There is something different to that type of writing compared to posts on other social media. 

The other thing to consider is what to blog? Do I want to keep it focused on one topic or whatever comes to mind? I know for the reader it is probably best to stay on one topic. I don't know if I could do that or not. Also, do I want to wait until January or start in December? 

Right now I am leaning on keeping the focus on 3 main topics--cooking, reading, and drinking. I may throw in the random post from time to time just to make sure I keep posting regularly. I am probably going to start in December too. Why wait? 

Monday, October 07, 2013

Room 237 and The Shining

Watching the documentary Room 237 on Netflix. I think we will have to turn it off. I can only take so many conspiracy theories in one sitting. How these people came up with these crazy hidden meanings in Stanley Kubrick's The Shining is beyond me. The final straw for me was the guy who saw hidden meanings in the movie the prove Kubrick faked the Moon landings. 

Monday, August 08, 2011

Death Masks by Jim Butcher


Over the weekend I was able to finish Death Masks by Jim Butcher. This is book 5 in the Dresden Files which is a series I started awhile ago, but for various reasons have not kept up with. I am so glad I came back.

Picking up after Summer Knight, Harry once again finds himself in trouble when he is hired to find the Shroud of Turin. As if that was not bad enough he also is challenged to a duel by a member of the Red Court. Life is never easy for the only licensed wizard in Chicago.

The series is really hitting its stride now with this book. We are getting to know Harry more and see why he acts the way he does. We also learn more about the Knights and what Harry's flame Susan has been up to. A word of warning though--it is not advisable to start this series here. If you like this you may also enjoy the Felix Castor series from Mike Carey.

Monday, August 01, 2011

The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt


I finished this book today. Normally I am not a fan of Western books although I love Western movies. Not sure why I enjoy one style and not the other. This book though might change my mind.

Told from the viewpoint of Eli we follow him and his brother Charlie as they embark on another mission from the Commodore. The famous Sisters Brothers are cold blooded killers who do not let anything stop them from completely the job. This job though just might change everything as Eli starts to question his commitment to the Commodore and the lifestyle he leads.

For fans of Westerns and Literary Fiction.

postscript:I forgot to add that this book has also been recently long listed for the 2011 Man Booker Prize

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

The Price of Keeping a Sports Franchise...

I love sports. I just wanted to make that clear. What I don't love is how the public is forced to pay for the privilege of having a sports team. The Wall Street Journal had an interesting article about the high costs the residents of Hamilton County are paying for the privilege of keeping the Reds and Bengals in Cincinnati. It sure is something to think about as we listen to billionaire owners argue over money with millionaire players during the football lockout.

Let's be honest--what does the average fan get out of having a local professional football team? Bragging rights over having a home team? And if they suck then what? We always hear about how much money a sports franchise brings to a community, but what about how much they take? With public financing of new stadiums and tax breaks on revenue what do they really contribute? Sure some local restaurants and bars get extra business during the season, but does that really offset what we lose out as a whole on taxes?

Again I love sports. And love to watch to watch them. Still, at some point we have to ask ourselves at what cost is it worth to keep our teams? And are we really prepared to pay it?

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Google+ for all the cool kids...

Another day another social networking site. That is what it seems like to me. After hearing a lot of buzz about Google's latest entry I had to try it out. I have to say the little I have seen of it I really like.

It feels like a cross between Facebook and Twitter with advantages and disadvantages of both. For me the idea of circles works really well. One of the things I dislike about Facebook is people sending me friend requests that I really do not want to see some of my posts. Yes, I could make changes to try and eliminate them from seeing things but Circles is so much easier. Just drag and drop people into whatever circles you like, including multiple ones, and then post items to just those people. So easy.

I am a big Twitter fan, but there are two big things I don't like about it--a limit of 140 characters and not being able to edit my tweets. Google+ eliminates both of those drawbacks. Like Twitter lists, circles does the same filtering for me to limit what I read. The only drawback so far to Google+ over Twitter is it is easier to search for subjects at the moment in Twitter. I am sure Google will soon rectify that.

I have to say that after just a couple of days of playing around with Google+ I am a fan. I thought Buzz had potential, but this can be so much more. I have never been a big fan of Facebook so I can see my dropping that quickly or at least not bothering to log in very often to see the few people I am friends with who won't transfer over to Google+.

Only time will tell how things play out. Something tells me this time Google is in it for the long haul unlike with Buzz and Google Wave. Which is fine by me...
Clicky Web Analytics